Stream Youtube Playlists via VLC

February 24, 2021 · 2 min read

I came across this Lua script which parses Youtube playlist links and adds them to a VLC playlist. It seems to work only on Windows though so I made a few tweaks to make it run on Linux.

Some context

Youtube has loads of amazing channels for learning, and I like to bingewatch tutorials and courses at ~3x speed.
I use uBlock Origin on Firefox, it efficiently eliminates the the primary hurdle to bingewatching, ads.

However, learning from Youtube has a significant risk.
It is distracting.

I’ll admit that damned sidebar of recommendations has lead me astray on several occasions, I found myself looking at questionable videos at odd times instead of pending Watch Later videos I have piled up.

Sure, browser extensions exist for this purpose, but I wanted to play with VLC addon scripts.
I’m very happy with the results 🀩

Script

Installation

On Linux:

Save the script in ~/.local/share/vlc/lua/playlist/ along with JSON.lua and the youtube-dl binary for Linux.

The folder structure should look like this:

  ~/.local/share/vlc/lua/playlist
  β”œβ”€β”€ JSON.lua
  β”œβ”€β”€ youtube-dl
  └── yt-playlist.lua

On Windows:

Save this script in %APPDATA%\vlc\lua\playlist\ along with JSON.lua and the youtube-dl binary for Windows.

The folder structure should look like this:

  C:\USERS\<username>\APPDATA\ROAMING\VLC
  └───lua
      └───playlist
          β”œβ”€β”€β”€JSON.lua
          β”œβ”€β”€β”€youtube-dl.exe
          └───yt-playlist.lua

Usage

After installation, relaunch VLC and open the Open Media > Network menu (C-n), and enter the Youtube playlist URL.

It will be parsed automatically and added to the current playlist. You can save the playlist as a .xspf file and share it as well!

← Youtube Remaining Time
Org Custom LaTeX Classes β†’